School of Art and Design Faculty and Staff

Administration

Name Title Phone Email Office
Douglas Boughton Director 815-753-7850 dboughton@niu.edu AB 215
Todd Buck Assistant Director 815-753-7895 tbuck@niu.edu AB 414D
Michael Barnes Graduate Programs Coordinator 815-753-1567 artgradcoordinator@niu.edu AB 408C
Benjamin Stone Foundation Administrator 815-753-1473 bstone@niu.edu AB 203A
Stephanie Sailer Recruiter 815-753-1473 ssailer1@niu.edu AB 216
Shelley Harold Office Administrator 815-753-7852 sharold@niu.edu  AB 215

Staff

Name Title Phone Email Office
Justin Bitner Studio Technical Specialist 815-753-0717 jbitner@niu.edu AB 414
Melissa Ferry Office Manager 815-753-1473 mferry@niu.edu  AB 216
Bethany Geiseman Academic Advisor 815-753-1473 bgeiseman@niu.edu AB 216
Connie Rhoton Office Manager, Art and Design Education, Student Teaching Coordinator 815-753-1474 crhoton@niu.edu AB 210
Peter Van Ael Gallery Coordinator 815-753-4521 pvanael@niu.edu AB 200

Art and Design Education Faculty

Name Program Phone Email Office
Douglas Boughton Assessment and Curriculum 815-753-7850 dboughton@niu.edu AB 215
Kerry Freedman Visual Culture and Curriculum 815-753-7879 kfreedman@niu.edu AB 208
Richard Siegesmund Philosophy 815-753-7880 rsiegesmund@niu.edu AB 203E
Kryssi Staikidis Multiculturalism 815-753-8388 kstaikidis@niu.edu AB 201D
Shei-Chau Wang Studio Pedagogy/Cross-Cultural Curriculum 815-753-7878 scwang@niu.edu AB 213G

Art Foundations Faculty

Name Program Phone Email Office
Benjamin Stone Coordinator, 2D and 3D 815-753-1473 bstone@niu.edu AB 201B
Cynthia Hellyer-Heinz 2D and 3D, Drawing 815-753-7865 chellyer@niu.edu AB 314
John Siblik Drawing 815-753-8398 jsiblik@niu.edu AB 414B
Geoffrey Smith Drawing 815-753-8399 gtsmith@niu.edu AB 414K

Art History Faculty

Name Program Phone Email Office
Sinclair Bell Classical 815-753-1473 sinclair.bell@niu.edu AB 201E
Sarah Evans Contemporary 815-753-7866 sevans@niu.edu AB 203C
Rebecca Houze Modern Art and Design 815-753-7923 rhouze@niu.edu AB 203J
Helen Nagata East Asian 815-753-7923 hnagata@niu.edu AB 201B
Mary Quinlan Renaissance 815-753-7850 mquinlan@niu.edu AB 201C
Catherine Raymond South and Southeast Asian 815-753-0512 craymond@niu.edu AB 201A
Isabel Sabau Distance Learning 815-753-7857 isabau@niu.edu --
Ann Van Dijk Medieval 815-753-7923 avandijk@niu.edu AB 203F

Design and Media Art Faculty

Name Program Phone Email Office
Aleksandra Giza Visual Communications 815-753-1473 agiza@niu.edu AB 314G
Joe Insley Time Arts 815-753-1473 jinsley@niu.edu AB 314
Jessica Labatte Photography 815-753-1473 jlabatte@niu.edu AB 318
Perrin Stamatis Visual Communications 815-753-1473 pstamatis@niu.edu AB 314C
Amanda VanValkenburg Time Arts 815-753-1473 avanvalkenburg@niu.edu AB 216

Studio Art Faculty

Name Program Phone Email Office
Michael Barnes Printmaking 815-753-1473 mbarnes@niu.edu AB 408C
Todd Buck Illustration 815-753-7895 tbuck@niu.edu AB 414D
Billie Giese Drawing 815-753-1473 bag@niu.edu AB 414K
James Kearns Ceramics 815-753-4702 jkearns@niu.edu AB 107C
Yih-Wen Kuo Ceramics 815-753-3803 ykuo@niu.edu AB 107D
Cynthia Hellyer-Heinz 2D and 3D, Drawing 815-753-7865 chellyer@niu.edu AB 314
Kimberly Martens Illustration 815-753-1473 kmartens@niu.edu AB 414K
Jamie Obermeier Metals 815-753-7890 obermeier@niu.edu AB 402A
Mike Rea Sculpture 815-753-1473 mrea@niu.edu AB 414J
Nina Rizzo Painting 815-753-1473 nrizzo@niu.edu AB 414D
Geoffrey Smith Drawing 815-753-8399 gtsmith@niu.edu AB 414K
Jeremy Tinder Illustration 815-753-1473 jtinder1@niu.edu AB-414
Frank Trankina Painting 815-753-1473 ftrankina@niu.edu Ab 414G